FORGET ME NOT

(Transworld/Penguin Random House, November 2015)

When Rose’s daughter, Vivien, is found dead in a suspected suicide, Rose has questions nobody can answer. Wasn’t Vivien living the perfect life? A caring husband, a sweet little girl of her own.

Or the perfect murder?

But as the police investigation develops, their findings raise new questions. Did Vivien kill herself, or was she attacked? If so, who has something to hide?

As Rose struggles to piece together the secrets of her daughter’s life, the cracks in the family begin to show. But once Rose knows the answers, there’s no going back…

A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Daughter, The Book of You and C L Taylor’s The Lie.

Reviews

Another impressive second novel is Forget Me Not by Luana Lewis (Corgi, £7.99). This tightly written tale of domestic suspense explores the relationships of three generations of women: grandmother Rose, a working single parent who still feels guilty about her failure to be fulfilled by motherhood; Vivien, the brittle, controlling daughter from whom she is estranged; and Vivien’s own daughter, eight-year-old Lexi. When Vivien is found dead, apparently having killed herself, Rose starts to realise that her daughter’s superficially perfect life – rich, doting husband, beautiful house – does not stand up to scrutiny. In she blunders, trying to be helpful and hoping to forge a connection with her granddaughter, but she is challenged by Vivien’s old friend Chloe, an ex-girlfriend of the widower who seems keen to step into the dead woman’s shoes. Forget Me Not is the type of book that stands or falls on the author’s ability to shift the focus of the reader’s mistrust and dislike from one character to another, and Lewis succeeds brilliantly in this.

The Guardian

(Transworld/Penguin Random House, November 2015)